Opal Rainbow

Image

I learnt a song last weekend, from Stiff Gins singer-songwriters Nardi Simpson and Kaleena Briggs. It is called Opal Rainbow, and is in Language.

Nardi and Kaleena taught us this song in a workshop.  We sang the chorus with them, and they filled in the verses.  It tells a story of going searching the scrailings for opals that the miners might have missed. Nardi provides evocative mime that helps support the story.

For the first couple of days, a gospel song from the same folk festival took up residence in my head and blocked out the tune of Opal Rainbow.  But on my walk to work yesterday, the tune and lyrics of the chorus came back to me.

I wanted to share it with the children, but I was not sure how I could manage it, and whether they could take to it.  The group I am teaching at the moment are very little.  I can barely get them to join in on Twinkle Twinkle Little Star.

But as circle time approached, I resolved to sing it to them anyway.  At least it might help me remember.

I had a brain wave to add clapping sticks.  I could not find the good ones at short notice, but I grabbed a few pieces of dowel from a wooden construction set.  (Nardi uses her thongs, after all.)

I gave each child a pair of sticks, set up a rhythm and sang to them.

They worked intently on their clapping technique.  They did not care about the song or the lyrics.  But as I sang to them over and over, they fell into time.

The last line of the song is chanted, and the sticks are clapped fast and out of rhythm. It provides nice punctuation to end the song. It makes the children smile.

As I finished singing for the tenth time, the children cred ‘again’.

I have a hit.

The lyrics are (have to check the spelling) :

Geyarra-gi dhay
Geyarra-gi dhay

Yuluwirrigirr
Yuluwirrigirr

Geyarra-gi dhay
Geyarra-gi dhay

Yuluwirrigirr
Yuluwirrigirr

Gandanganda

 

.

You can hear Stiff Gins on You Tube. This song Yandool is in Wiradjuri.  It is a lovely taste of their music, though not so suitable for singing with young children.  I have not been able to find a performance of Opal Rainbow yet to share with you.

Stiff Gins also do workshops for children (though more for schools than early childhood, I gather).  They are very engaging and great performers and teachers, as well as good musicians.  Look out for them.

Leave a Reply

